MEDICINE GUIDE
Tibolone (Amena): a one-tablet option for menopause, price in the Philippines
Editorially reviewed on October 29, 2026Medical review: pending
Quick answer
Tibolone is a single daily tablet that acts like estrogen, a progestogen and a little testosterone. It is for women whose periods stopped at least a year ago, and it does not need a separate progestogen. In the Philippines it is sold as Amena at ₱1,442.75 per pack (pack size not stated) (Watsons); the Livial brand was not found. It is prescription only.
- What it is
- Tibolone
- Brands
- Amena, Livial
- Prescription
- Yes, prescription only in the Philippines
- Forms
- 2.5 mg tablet
- Price
- ₱1,442.75 per pack (pack size not stated) (Watsons) | Not available in PH retail as of October 2026
- Used for
- Menopause symptoms after periods have stopped for at least a year, in one daily tablet that does not need a separate progestogen.
- Used with
- Taken alone. Not combined with other HRT.
Safety information
Who should not use it
- Before 12 months without a period (it can cause irregular bleeding)
- Known, suspected or past breast cancer
- Unexplained vaginal bleeding that has not been checked
- Current or past blood clots, stroke or heart attack
- Active liver disease
Common side effects
- Spotting or bleeding in the first months
- Breast tenderness
- Weight change or bloating
- Headache
- Increased hair growth (uncommon)
Check registration on the FDA Philippines verification portal.
Key facts
| Generic name | Tibolone |
| Brands | Amena (found at Watsons PH); Livial (not found in PH retail) |
| What it is | A synthetic steroid that the body turns into substances with estrogen, progestogen and weak androgen effects |
| Prescription | Yes, Rx only |
| Form sold | 2.5 mg tablet |
| Price | ₱1,442.75 per pack (pack size not stated) (Watsons) |
| Used with | Nothing else: it replaces estrogen plus progestogen |
Prices checked October 2026. The Watsons listing does not state how many tablets are in a pack, and its title says "25mg" while the usage section says 2.5 mg. Tibolone tablets are labelled at 2.5 mg (UK label), so "25mg" looks like a typo, but confirm with the pharmacist. Ask the pharmacist for the pack count before working out a monthly cost. The cost calculator will update once it is confirmed.
How it is used in menopause
The UK label lists one 2.5 mg tablet a day, preferably at the same time each day, with no separate progestogen added. Check the leaflet in your PH pack too.
Tibolone works like a continuous combined regimen in one tablet. That means:
- Only after at least 12 months without a period. The UK label says to start at least 12 months after your last natural period; started earlier, in perimenopause, it may cause irregular bleeding (Australasian Menopause Society). Women after surgical menopause can start straight away.
- No monthly bleed is expected. Some spotting in the first months is common. Bleeding that starts later, or continues after the first months, needs checking.
- Switching from other HRT: the UK label says to start tibolone the day after finishing a sequential regimen, or at any time if you are on a continuous combined regimen. Let your doctor plan the switch.
It helps hot flashes and night sweats (relief usually starts within the first few weeks, per the UK label), and it prevents bone loss about as well as standard HRT (Australasian Menopause Society). Some studies found better libido or sexual function than with placebo, though whether it beats standard HRT here is unclear. See low libido.
Your doctor decides whether tibolone suits you. The details above are from the label, not a prescription.
Who should not take it
The UK label says tibolone should not be used if you have or had:
- Breast cancer. In a trial of breast cancer survivors (LIBERATE), the cancer came back in 15.2% of women on tibolone versus 10.7% on placebo.
- Womb cancer or another estrogen-dependent cancer
- Vaginal bleeding that has not been checked
- Untreated thickening of the womb lining
- A blood clot in a leg or lung, or a known clotting disorder
- A stroke, mini-stroke (TIA), heart attack or angina
- Liver disease, unless liver tests are back to normal
- Porphyria
- Pregnancy or breastfeeding
It is also not started until 12 months after a natural last period.
Stroke risk in older women. In a trial of women aged 60 to 85 with osteoporosis (LIFT, average age 68), a lower 1.25 mg dose of tibolone about doubled stroke risk (2.2 times placebo) while reducing fractures. Doctors are more cautious about starting it in women over 60 or with stroke risk factors such as high blood pressure, diabetes or smoking.
Side effects
Side effects listed on the UK label include:
- Spotting or vaginal bleeding
- Breast tenderness
- Weight gain, and swelling from fluid (oedema)
- Lower tummy or pelvic pain
- Unwanted hair growth, acne
- Vaginal discharge, itching or thrush
- Headache, migraine, dizziness and low mood (reported in use after launch)
Bleeding that continues beyond 6 months of treatment, or starts later, should be checked.
Tell your doctor about any bleeding after the first few months, a breast lump, or signs of a clot or stroke.
Tibolone vs estradiol gel plus progesterone
| Tibolone | Estradiol gel + progestogen | |
|---|---|---|
| Number of products | One tablet | Two |
| Who it suits | Over 12 months since last period | Peri or post menopause |
| Monthly bleed | No (spotting early on) | With sequential regimens, yes |
| Route | Tablet | Skin gel plus capsule or tablet |
| Watsons price | ₱1,442.75 per pack (pack size not stated) (Watsons) | Gel ₱1,185.50 per 80 g pump pack (Watsons); progesterone ₱85.75 per capsule (Watsons) |
Prices checked October 2026. A Cochrane review found tibolone works better than placebo but slightly less well than combined HRT for hot flashes, with less unscheduled bleeding than combined HRT. Its convenience is the main draw. For the breast cancer picture across HRT types, see Nakaka-cancer ba ang HRT?
Questions to ask your doctor
Tibolone suits some women well and others not at all. Before you start, ask:
- "Has it been long enough since my last period for tibolone?"
- "Given my age, blood pressure and family history, is my stroke or breast cancer risk a reason to choose something else?"
- "How many tablets are in the Amena pack, so I can plan my monthly cost?"
- "What spotting is normal in the first months, and when should I call?"
- "How will we judge if it is working, and when do we review it?"
Bring a symptom diary from the weeks before your visit, and see talk to your doctor for a Taglish script.
Alternatives
- Estradiol gel with micronized progesterone or dydrogesterone
- Conjugated estrogens with a progestogen
- Non-hormonal treatments if hormones are not suitable
Compare regimens on HRT costs and the full overview on HRT for menopause.
Frequently asked questions
Is tibolone available in the Philippines?
Yes. Watsons lists Amena tibolone 2.5 mg at ₱1,442.75 per pack (pack size not stated) (Watsons). Prices checked October 2026. The Livial brand was not found in PH retail.
Is Livial the same as tibolone?
Yes, Livial is a brand of tibolone. Amena contains the same medicine.
Is tibolone safer than HRT?
Not necessarily. It has its own risks, including a higher stroke risk in women over 60 and a higher recurrence risk after breast cancer (Cochrane review; LIBERATE trial). It is a different option, not a safer one.
Can I take tibolone if I still have periods?
It is meant for women at least 12 months past their last period. Earlier, it may cause irregular bleeding. A sequential HRT regimen usually fits better.
Does tibolone help libido?
Some studies found better libido or sexual function than with placebo, possibly from its mild androgen effect. Whether it beats standard HRT is unclear (Australasian Menopause Society). See low libido for other options.
Does tibolone cause weight gain?
Weight gain and fluid swelling are listed side effects on the UK label. Midlife weight gain is also common without any HRT. See weight and belly.
Keep reading
Sources
- Watsons PH: Amena tibolone 2.5 mg
- The Menopause Society 2022 hormone therapy position statement (press release)
- Livial 2.5 mg tablets, UK summary of product characteristics (eMC). Label dose, contraindications, side effects and LIFT stroke data
- Formoso G et al. Short-term and long-term effects of tibolone in postmenopausal women. Cochrane Database Syst Rev 2016 (PMID 27733017)
- Kenemans P et al. LIBERATE trial: tibolone in breast-cancer patients. Lancet Oncol 2009;10(2):135-46
- Australasian Menopause Society: Tibolone as menopausal hormone therapy
- NICE NG23 2024 update (Menopause Charity summary)
This guide is for information. Talk to a doctor before starting, stopping or changing any treatment.